Go To Search

Mayor Richard A. Delarosa_webpage.jpg

Richard A. DeLaRosa

City of Colton
650 N. La Cadena Drive
Colton, CA  92324
(909) 370-5059 - Office
(909) 370-5192 - Fax

Council   1st    Term:     Dec. 1998 - Dec. 2002
Council   2nd   Term:     Dec. 2002 - Dec. 2006
Council   3rd    Term:     Dec. 2006 - Dec. 2010
Mayor     4th    Term:     Dec. 2014 - Dec. 2018





Richard A. DeLaRosa was first elected in 1998 as Council Member representing District 2.  In 2002, his Council colleagues appointed him to serve a one year term as Mayor Pro Tem.  Having served three 4-year terms, in December 2010, he opted to retire.   Richard came out of retirement in 2014 and was successfully elected to serve as Mayor for the City of Colton.  

As Mayor, he has made it his charge to be responsive to all residents and businesses of Colton and he quotes, “Our accountability is to the citizens and businesses of Colton and we are constantly working to improve the way we do business."  
Under his leadership, Mayor DeLaRosa brings a sense of urgency to revitalizing the core of the city’s downtown area; expanding services and programs to underserved areas of Colton; advancing projects such as the Medical University in the city’s west end; development of the Roquet Ranch area in south Colton; the Metrolink expansion project in north Colton; and to the east of town, high-end distinguished housing development in the Reche Canyon area.

In his professional career, Mayor DeLaRosa was employed with the State of California Department of Corrections as a Correctional Peace Officer for nearly 28 years; served six years as an Equal Employment Opportunity Counselor; and five years as an Honor Guard Member of the Department of Corrections.

Mayor DeLaRosa’s representation and involvement with various projects and intergovernmental agencies expands throughout the Inland Empire, regional and state levels with the following agencies: 

  • Colton Public Financing Authority, Board Member
  • Colton Successor Agency, Board Member
  • Colton Planning Commission, Chairman
  • Colton/CJUSD Bridge Committee, Alternate Member
  • P.O.S.T. Commission Member, appointed by CA State Governor Brown, (2015-2016)
  • Inland Valley Development Authority, Board Member
  • League of California Cities, Member
  • Legislative Task Force, League of CA Cities Inland Empire Division, Alternate Board Member
  • Omnitrans, Board Member 
  • San Bernardino County Transportation Authority (SBCTA formerly SANBAG), Alternate Board Member
  • Southern California Association of Governments, Alternate Board Member   
  • San Bernardino International Airport Authority, Board Member

En Español